Chippendale World Art Residency

Southern France


Bonjour! Nicky Ginsberg, Founder of the Chippendale New World Art Prize and President of the Chippendale Creative Precinct invites you to embrace your international arts community and join her global art movement.

Australian and International artists are invited to submit a painted landscape for the fifth annual Chippendale New World Art Prize, re-imagined this year as the Chippendale World Art Residency for artists eager to conquer global frontiers.

Three winners of the Prize are to be awarded six week Artist Residencies in the culturally rich and colourfully inspiring region of Provence & surrounds, Southern France. The brief is simple, we invite Australian and International artists to submit one painting of a landscape that inspires a sense of place.

The Prize

With supreme thanks to our benefactor Dr. Stanley Quek, former Chairman of Frasers Property Australia and current Executive Chairman of Greencliff Pty. Ltd., Chippendale’s first Art Prize is made possible by a generous $100,000 sponsorship spanning 10 years.

We are proud to announce that this year, THREE winning artists will gain access to six week residencies in the Provence region, Southern France. Previous recipients of the Chippendale World Art Residency have honed their skills in Beijing, Assisi in Italy, Marcia in Spain and Kefalonia, Greece.

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 3.04.52 PM

Vincent Van Gogh – Farmhouse in Provence, 1888


The Brief

Our panel of esteemed judges holds the imaginative translation of a scene most highly in their scrutiny. They encourage emotive and conceptual minds to explore, manipulate and identify the notion of place. The brief is free to artistic interpretation and open to a variety of unique creative voices.

This is your opportunity to tell a story, your story, and paint a landscape to illustrate your skillset. We invite you to be bold, showcase your potential as an artist and demonstrate what you might achieve when responding to fading French light as our selected artist in residence.

Take inspiration from any landscape, be it lively green countrysides or rich red deserts or monochrome flatlands. All styles of painting are welcome and encouraged, think modernist, contemporary, abstract and expressionist. Experiment with form, light, texture and colour to create something truly unique to your artistic voice.

The Adjudication

Finalists will be announced in August and their work displayed in an online gallery for public viewing. Three winners of the Chippendale World Art Residency and a People’s Choice Award Winner will be announced in late September.

2017 judges include:

● Anita Taylor – Dean of Bath School of Art and Design. Former Director and CEO of the National Art School, as well as an Adjunct Professor for the Sydney College of the Arts, at the University of Sydney. Founding Director of the Jerwood Drawing Prize project UK. As well as an established artist.

● Dr. Stanley Quek – Chairman and founder of Greencliff Pty Ltd. Also former Chairman of Frasers Property Australia.

● Nicky Ginsberg – President of Chippendale Creative Precinct and founder of the Prize.

Other judges to be announced soon.

The Residency

Three winners of the Chippendale World Art Residency will be granted access to the NG Art Creative Residency Program. In 2017 President Nicky Ginsberg has taken NG ART global, establishing the NG ART Residency program in Eygalières, France, set to nurture work by artists, writers, performers, academics and scholars. At NG Art Creative Residency, artists are encouraged to be adventurous, productive and most of all inspired by the heart, soul and light of the region of Southern France. The residency includes full board and lodgings in a stunning homestead with a swimming pool, surrounded by exquisite gardens and mountain scenes. For more information about the Eygalières region, click here.

An expert in Curating, Arts Marketing, Gallery Directing and French language, NG Art’s Nicky Ginsberg will offer ongoing leadership throughout the six weeks. Nicky will provide support as you discover the local creative community, and forge connections with fellow international artists. This exciting Residency will see prize winners sample authentic French cuisine, travel surrounding areas, develop their cannons in private studios and paint en plein air the surrounding landscape. Trodden by the likes of Vincent Van Gogh and exhibiting the vision of Picasso, Matisse and Chagall, may their art grow and flourish as the sunflowers.




The Art Prize calls upon new and established artists to submit one painting of a landscape that inspires a sense of place. There are no limitations to scale as submissions and judging of paintings are to take place online. Finalist’s work will similarly be showcased in an online exhibition.







Submission Requirements:

● ONE Artist’s Statement (one A4 page maximum)

● ONE Artist’s CV (two A4 pages maximum)

● Up to THREE (high-resolution/300 DPI) photographs of your completed artwork

● Submission Fee: $35


The fine print:

1. The Prize does not cover travel expenses.

2. Only original artworks created specifically for this Art Prize will be accepted.

3. Applicants may submit only ONE artwork for adjudication.

4. No late entries will be accepted.


The winners will be asked to donate 1 work of a Provencal scene to the Chippendale Creative Precinct.

Prize applications can be entered here.


Nicole Kelly

Past Winners

CNWAP 2016 Winner Indigo Hanlee is currently undertaking her residency at Assisi in Umbria, Italy.

Assisi is a wonderfully preserved medieval town in the mountains of Umbria. Famous as the birthplace of St. Francis and for the Basilica of San Francesco, containing frescoes by late-medieval artists such as Giotto and Cimabue, Assisi is also an important site for pilgrims from around the world.

The residency I’m staying at is twenty minutes away on the slopes of Mount Subasio. Run by Marina Serli and her family, Arte Studio Ginestrelle hosts small groups of artists and writers in a beautifully refurbished farm house in the middle of a National Park. A lot of my time has been spent exploring Mount Subasio and the sites around Assisi. The weather has also been great for painting – wild flowers (and asparagus!) have started to appear everywhere so I’ve been taking the opportunity to spend a lot of time working in both the indoor and outdoor studio spaces.


Photo courtesy of Indigo Hanlee


In June, members of the CCP are being treated to a 15% discount STOREWIDE at the Sydney Art Store! Stock up on the finest supplies to help you create you work! Bringing premium products from around the globe to Chippendale, check out the Sydney Art Store’s social media or shop online at their website here.

Winner will receive


2016 Winner – Indigo Hanlee and Michael Thomas Hill (Lightwell)

2015 Winner – Hobart Hughes

2014 Winner – Ian Andrews

2013 Winner –  Bryden Williams


2016 Finalists

2015 Finalists

2014 Finalists

2013 Finalists